Tags

, , ,

Let’s face it. When you’re a 21st century, college-educated, middle class American, writing about a common medieval teenage soldier on the battlefield poses a dilemma.

As I wrote The Ashes of Heaven’s Pillar and imagined two warriors pointing spears at each other, I was surprised by how impersonal the conflict was, and it struck me again when I read Judith Starkston’s excellent debut, Hand of Fire (to be released September 10 by Fireship Press; read my review on Goodreads). Visit Judith’s blog for my guest post with the title “Nothing Personal, I Just Need to Kill You.”

Alphonse de Neuville’s 19th century interpretation of the Franks fighting the Saxons

Alphonse de Neuville’s 19th century interpretation of the Franks fighting the Saxons (public domain image via Wikimedia Commons).

 

