Tags

, , , ,

Blame it on a legend. A tale about the origin of Rolandsbogen, castle ruins on a high Rhineland hill, drew me to Roland, a prefect of the March of Brittany during Charlemagne’s reign. The history of this era has me intrigued me enough to write two books (The Cross and the Dragon and The Ashes of Heaven’s Pillar) and get started on a third (about Queen Fastrada).

So, when Unusual Historicals asked authors to write something on the theme of Five Fascinating Facts, how could I resist sharing a sample of what fascinates me about Charlemagne’s Francia? Visit Unusual Historicals for more.

Rolandsbogen

The legend behind Rolandsbogen led me to study Frankish history (photo by Tohma via Wikimedia Commons, used under the terms of the GNU Free Documentation License).

